Topology, Algebra, and Categories in Logic 2019

Nice, June 17 - 21 (conference)

Île de Porquerolles, June 10 - 15 (school)

Background and scope of the conference. Studying logic via semantics is a well-established and very active branch of mathematical logic with many applications in computer science and elsewhere. The area is characterized by results, tools and techniques stemming from various fields, including universal algebra, topology, category theory, order, and model theory. The programme of the conference TACL 2019 will focus on three interconnecting mathematical themes central to the semantic study of logic and their applications: topological, algebraic, and categorical methods.

TACL 2019 is the ninth conference in the series Topology, Algebra and Categories in Logic (TACL, formerly TANCL). Earlier instalments of this conference have been organized in Tbilisi (2003), Barcelona (2005), Oxford (2007), Amsterdam (2009), Marseille (2011), Nashville (2013), Ischia (2015), and Prague (2017). For more information about the TACL series visit the TACL series website.

Topics. Contributed talks are intended to be about topological, algebraic or categorical methods which are used in mathematical or computer science logic. This includes, but is not limited to, the following areas:

Algebraic logic
Algebraic structures in CS
Categorical methods in logic
Domain theory
Fuzzy and many-valued logics
Lattice theory

Lattices with operators
Modal logics
Non-classical logics
Ordered algebraic structures
Ordered topological spaces
Pointfree topology

Proofs and types
Residuated structures
Stone-type dualities
Substructural logics
Topological semantics of modal logic

Important Dates

Contributed talks:
Submission by: 27 February 2019 6 March 2019 (extended)
Notification: 24 March 2019
Request for funding and/or student-style accommodation:
Submission by: 27 February 2019 6 March 2019 (extended)
Notification: 24 March 2019
Further deadlines:
Early registration: 31 March 2019
Registration deadline: 31 May 2019

The research discussed has received funding from the European Research Council (ERC) under the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (grant agreement No.670624)

Université Côte d'Azur

Le Centre national de la recherche scientifique DuaLL: ERC Advanced project running 2015-2020

Laboratoire d'Informatique, Signaux et Systèmes de Sophia Antipolis Laboratoire J.A. Dieudonné

Programme Committee

  • Silvio Ghilardi, University of Milan, Italy (PC co-chair)
  • Ramon Jansana, University of Barcelona, Spain (PC co-chair)
  • Mai Gehrke, CNRS and Université Côte d’Azur, France (liaison with local organizing committee)
  • Nick Bezhanishvili, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Marta Bílková, Charles University, Czech Republic
  • Agata Ciabattoni, TU Vienna, Austria
  • David Gabelaia, Tbilisi State University, Republic of Georgia
  • Jean Goubault-Larrecq, ENS Cachan, France
  • John Harding, New Mexico State University, USA
  • Rosalie Iemhoff, Utrecht University, Netherlands
  • Vincenzo Marra, University of Milan, Italy
  • Paul-André Melliès, CNRS and Paris Diderot University, France
  • Jorge Picado, University of Coimbra, Portugal
  • Aleš Pultr, Charles University, Czech Republic
  • James Raftery, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Anna Romanowska, Warsaw Polytechnic, Poland
  • Valentin Shehtman, Moscow State University, Russia
  • Isar Stubbe, University Côte d’Opale, France
  • Fred Wehrung, CNRS and University of Caen, France
  • Michael Zakharyaschev, University of London, United Kingdom

Steering Committee

  • Guram Bezhanishvili, New Mexico State University, United States
  • Mai Gehrke, CNRS and Université Côte d’Azur, France
  • Silvio Ghilardi, University of Milan, Italy
  • Rob Goldblatt, Victoria University Wellington, New Zealand
  • Ramón Jansana, University of Barcelona, Spain
  • Hilary Priestley, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • James Raftery, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Yde Venema, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Organizing Committee

  • Mai Gehrke
  • Étienne Lozes
  • Frédéric Patras
  • Luigi Santocanale
  • Clemens Berger
  • Carlos Simpson
  • Célia Borlido
  • Wesley Fussner
  • Najwa Ghannoum
  • Tomáš Jakl
  • Brett McLean
  • Axel Osmond
  • Luca Reggio
  • Mehdi Zaïdi